Time- Whats yours look like?

Day 27 Project 365

TIME! It seems to be passing by at a faster pace than ever before.  I know we still have the same 24 hours in a day, 7 days in a week and so forth but how in the world did I get to be 41? How did my son get to be 21?  How did I get so much gray hair?  Where did my years go?  I have four kids that either look me in the eye or look down on me from over 6 foot and I have one that in just a matter of months will stand nose to nose with me.  I have so many amazing memories and so many more to create.

I also have a calling to be a good steward of my time.  To tithe to the Lord in my time and talents as well as in my finances.

I had dream after dream last night about my kids and how much time is passing by.  I woke this morning with a longing to capture time.  As I moved about my morning routine, switching loads of laundry, putting away last nights dishes, pouring my cup of morning java, I started to think about the amount of time I spend doing the things that compile a day.  Many are necessary and I have no choice but do I place importance on the right things?!

How much time do I spend:

Eating?

Turning on and off lights?

Listening to the radio?

Watching TV?

Brushing my teeth?

Using the restroom?

Sleeping?

Getting dressed or undressed?

Exercising?

Reading?

Talking on the phone?

Texting?

On Facebook?

Blogging?

With my kids?

With my husband (or wife)?

At work?

On my hobbies?

WITH GOD?

So many times in my day He gets the smallest fraction of my time.  I say I have no time and my day got away from me but really???

I know He is there and never leaves me. He longs for so much more than a few moments.  He is the author and finisher of my faith.  He knows best how to write the story of my life.  He desires to walk along with me and be a part of every moment.  Yes it is wonderful when I can sit down, open my bible and spend some solid time with Him and that is a very necessary time.  Yet He also longs to be with me as I make breakfast and fold clothes, as I drive to and from and as I watch my son play ball.  He desires to be with me at the grocery store and as I take my evening walk.  He desires to be with me at the hospital and when I am laying in my bed sick.  He wants to be with me when everything is going great and when I am feeling isolated and alone.  He wants to be there when I spring a leak not just when my pipes burst and I am drowning in water up to my neck.  He wants the offering of my time.  All of my time.  He longs to be my best friend.  To do life with me.

I love to play worship music in my home.  I love to fill the air with the sound of worship.  I love to sing along and pour out my soul.  I leave little devotionals throughout my home.  I write scripture on my bathroom mirrors and leave notes in my purse.  I ask Him as I am doing my chores and running my errands to speak to my heart.  I want to know what is on His heart too and I am always amazed at His love and tenderness.  I try to invite Him in to all I do.  I no longer want to go through the motions of my day.  I am finding that as He is along, walking right beside me, even the things that made me feel so overwhelmed and robotic have taken on new life.  He is showing me the purpose for things and people and me!

We get so busy.  We rush and say maybe later. How many times have we told our children I just don’t have time?
We have a responsibility to be good stewards of our time.  Invest in what matters.  Fill ourselves up so we can fill up others.  Do not put off tomorrow what is begging for your attention today.  Tomorrow may never come!

I know that I am so thankful He uses even my dreams to remind me how much He loves me and how precious is my time.  I am so thankful that He loves me enough to never tell me He just doesn’t have time.

Matthew 6:33 ESV

But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.

Romans 10:17 ESV

So faith comes from hearing, and hearing through the word of Christ.

2 Timothy 3:16 ESV

All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness,

Proverbs 18:24

there is a friend that sticketh closer than a brother.”

What a Friend we have in Jesus, All our sins and griefs to bear!    

What a privilege to carry Ev’rything to God in prayer!    

 O what peace we often forfeit, O what needless pain we bear,    

All because we do not carry Ev’rything to God in prayer!

Have we trials and temptations? Is there trouble anywhere?

We should never be discouraged-Take it to the Lord in prayer.

    Can we find a friend so faithful Who will all our sorrows share?    

 Jesus knows our every weakness-Take it to the Lord in prayer.

Are we weak and heavy laden, Cumbered with a load of care?    

 Precious Savior, still our refuge-Take it to the Lord in prayer.   

  Do thy friends despise, forsake thee? Take it to the Lord in prayer;

 In His arms He’ll take and shield thee-Thou wilt find a solace there.   

  -Joseph Scriven, written 1855

4 thoughts on “Time- Whats yours look like?

  1. Someone recently posted…”We make time for the things that are important to us. For everthing else we make excuses.” Very convicting indeed. Beth Moore gets up before sunrise to spend time with the Lord. I have found that when I do this, I am connected to God throughout the day! Thank you for writing. I enjoy your blog very much.

Leave a Reply

