Our Minutes

Day 31 Project 365

So normally by this time each year I am kicking myself for all the things I started doing January 1st with full intentions of finishing that have fallen by the way side.  I am usually beating myself up wishing I had more will power, drive or hours in my day.  This year started different as instead of new years resolutions I had compiled a well thought out and prayed over list of projects that I wanted to accomplish, from reading books, finishing photo albums to personal growth and healing!  I needed to start with a different purpose and vision and goal.

I am so pleased that after 31 days I am still going strong.  I have had ups and downs and joys and pains.  I have had days where I didn’t quite accomplish all the things I wanted to or should have done and I am excited to say instead of quitting I picked up where I left off the next day.  I have given myself grace and learned to apply that towards others.  I have made new memories with my family and friends and even added some new friends along the way.  I have not been perfect but I have been successful.

I am encouraged that as I continue to surrender the moments and desires of my heart, as I continue to allow myself to be sifted and refined, I am daily finding success.

Today I would like to share with you bits and pieces of a really great blog I read some time ago.  (I will have a link at the end of this blog so you can read the blog I am quoting from in its entirety.)  This is a reminder that no matter how much time is left in this year we are to spend it wisely.  The author was giving this as part of his speech to graduating seniors:

(The gift of) ” the next year of your life.

525,600 minutes.  I heard our friends in Concert Choir rehearsing “Seasons of Love,” one of my favorite songs from the musical Rent around the same time I started brainstorming for this speech.  In the song, Jonathon Larson wrote:

Five hundred twenty-five thousand Six hundred minutes, Five hundred twenty-five thousand Moments so dear. Five hundred twenty-five thousand Six hundred minutes How do you measure, measure a year?

In the next year, you will be given the gift of over half a million minutes.  Spend them wisely.  Tonight, as you mark this wonderful transition in your life, I hope that you’ll consider ways that you might spend your time to create some meaningful minutes in the year ahead.  It might be overwhelming to consider all that lies ahead for you:  college, or a career,  or family, or all of these, or none of these.  You all have plans, and tomorrow you will take your next step toward achieving them.

But before you get lost in the big picture, recognize that life is built minute by minute.  Lord Chesterfield said, “I recommend you take care of the minutes, for the hours will take care of themselves.” It’s the cumulative impact of our daily interactions with others that shape who we are and who we become. My challenge to you is to simply become more aware and purposeful in the way you choose to spend those minutes……

Now don’t worry, this isn’t the part of the speech where I tell you to “live every day as if it were your last.”  I’ve never really understood this advice.  If I lived every day as if it were my last, I’d probably never go to work!  You’d probably find me every day eating a Big Mac on a rollercoaster in Disney World with my family before flying to New York to see another fine Broadway performance.  Instead I tend to agree with Arnold Bennett who said, “The supply of time is a daily miracle.  You wake up in the morning and lo!  Your purse is magnificently filled with 24 hours of the unmanufactured tissue of the universe of life.  It is yours!  The most precious of your possessions.”  Spend it wisely.”

http://everyeveryminute.wordpress.com/2011/05/23/meaningful-minutes/

The gift we have been given is today- and the challenge is to simply become more aware and more purposeful.  I love it!  Best part, the one who created me is excited too!  Because as I surrender my moments and become more aware of my purpose and living it I become all He created me to be!

Leave a Reply

