Motivators!

Day 39 Project 365

My youngest son loves baseball.  He eats, drinks and sleeps the sport.  Heaven forbid someone tell him he isn’t good at a certain position or that he can’t play it because he is a lefty.  He is highly competitive and always pushing himself to play better and harder and smarter.  Competition and being the best motivates him.  So last year when a few kids were giving him a hard time he would practice till we made him come in.  He is good at baseball and really loves it and we tried to reassure him but he was driven.  The picking continued and one day he opened up with tears.  It wasn’t really baseball they were picking on him about but he had used their meanness to motivate him and he turned that frustration into a positive and worked harder on baseball.

“My haters are my motivators!”  That is the statement made today on Ellen when she was talking about something she is dealing with in her life right now.  I love it!  That is what my son was doing.  He was taking the negative that someone else was throwing his way and turning it into a positive for himself.  He reaped the reward.

This week I have been really dealing with the “haters” in my life and as I sat in my quiet time this morning I struggled to find a way to deal and change my perspective.

Had to smile today when the verse of the day on Biblegateway was this:

“[Love for Enemies]  “You have heard that it was said, ‘Love your neighbor and hate your enemy.’  But I tell you, love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you,  that you may be children of your Father in heaven. He causes his sun to rise on the evil and the good, and sends rain on the righteous and the unrighteous.”        Matthew 5:43-45 NIV

I am trying and I am refocusing and I am thankful for this chance to focus on the positive and embrace what matters.

‘My haters are my motivators!”  Brilliant.  I had done something like this with making healthy food choices.  I would identify what I was really feeling (because usually when I was craving something it wasn’t that I was hungry) and find something else to do besides eat.

So I made a plan for the “haters” in my world too!  They know they are pushing my buttons and they can see the hurt they cause.  What happens if I turn each of those times into a positive that has nothing to do with them????

Guess what??? It didn’t take long into my afternoon for me to test my new-found plan of action.  As soon as the bad attitudes and evil glares started I walked away.  I found someone positive in my world and paid them a compliment.  I walked to another and thanked them for something they had done this morning before school that was thoughtful.  When I walked back in the room it didn’t seem to matter any more.  When it happened again I repeated the process.  I wrote a thank you card,  I made some tea and lite my candles.  I felt so much better.

“My haters are my motivators!”  I am going to use these things to motivate me.  Motivate me to do something positive every single time a negative happens to me.  In doing so I am changing my perspective and my focus and I am gaining the reward.  I am so excited this afternoon.  It has become almost a game.  I have had a few more chances to apply the positive and after a few slammed doors in my direction I am starting to get the hang of this.  I even threw in a few prayers that as I make positive affirmations and choices with each negative maybe, just maybe the reward will be an eye-opening experience for someone else too!

2 thoughts on “Motivators!

  1. Pingback: Today’s Motivations « Media Meme

Leave a Reply

