Trust

Day 40 Project 365

Yesterday was my baby girls 20th birthday.  The years are flying by.  A couple of her girlfriends planned a surprise party for her at our home.  As I was cleaning the house and getting ready I pulled out her baby book and old pictures.  I sat and with tears remembered all the wonderful moments of her life to this point.

I came across some of my favorite pictures of my little ones.  Days at the pool enjoying the sun.  Nik would jump in the water into my arms.  Over and over he would jump and jump, even if I wasn’t ready to catch him he knew I would never let him sink.  He would encourage his little sister to jump too.  “It’s ok Kissa Mommy will catch you.  She always catches me!”  He trusted that no matter what he could climb up the ladder, walk to the edge and jump and Mommy would be waiting to catch him.

How much more can I trust my heavenly Father.  He knows everything that we have need of.

Near the end of 2010 when I left my job for medical reasons I had to believe, that even though I didn’t plan for this, God had it under control.  As the holidays came and went and the new year started I have trusted.  In the last few weeks when things have seemed so overwhelming, when sickness and circumstance has meant less money coming in, I have to trust that He sees and knows.  I have been drawing on His promises to see me through.

I opened a fellow bloggers page today and was reminded:

So many times our problems cause us to think that God has forgotten us. It is hard to understand that the Source of our strength and our Provider in all things is already with us. When a situation seems hopeless, it is difficult to not grow weary and lose strength. But we are told in Scripture to keep trusting and believing in all of our trials even when we don’t see the answer. We read in Romans 8:24, “Now hope that is seen is not hope. For who hopes for what he sees?” Our faith must transcend the boundaries of what we hear, see and feel. We must trust that the God we serve is working out his plan in our lives through every battle we face. Faith doesn’t see the future – it trusts the One who holds the future!

Everything that God allows in the life of a believer has been divinely designed. There are no mistakes in the plan that was made for you long before the foundation of the earth. Whatever is happening in your life that doesn’t seem right or fair has been allowed for a distinct purpose. It is never easy to suffer through our painful trials, but it is the working of our faith that gives us endurance to stay in the race and not give up.”  (http://wp.me/jDYb)

It didn’t take long for my daughter to start jumping off the side of the pool into my arms.  She loved it!  And last summer, all these years later as I made my way to the deep end of the pool with my youngest son and nephews in tow my little guy told my nephew Tanner not to worry “my mom won’t let you sink!”

That is the kind of trust I cling to in my heavenly Father.  No matter what is touching my life He has me and will not let me sink.  I can release all anxiety and fear, worry and doubt.  His love will never fail!  His promises are the same yesterday, today and forever!

Luke 12:22-34 Then Jesus said to his disciples: “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat; or about your body, what you will wear. Life is more than food, and the body more than clothes. Consider the ravens: They do not sow or reap, they have no storeroom or barn; yet God feeds them. And how much more valuable you are than birds! Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life? Since you cannot do this very little thing, why do you worry about the rest?

“Consider how the lilies grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you, not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today, and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, how much more will he clothe you, O you of little faith! And do not set your heart on what you will eat or drink; do not worry about it. For the pagan world runs after all such things, and your Father knows that you need them. But seek his kingdom, and these things will be given to you as well.

“Do not be afraid, little flock, for your Father has been pleased to give you the kingdom. Sell your possessions and give to the poor. Provide purses for yourselves that will not wear out, a treasure in heaven that will not be exhausted, where no thief comes near and no moth destroys. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.

Picture today is taken from National Geographic!  A reminder of God’s promises!

One thought on “Trust

Leave a Reply

