Standing in the Gap

Day 47 Project 365

I need to listen.  I mean really listen.  Not just to what is being said but what is not being said as well.  Not just to the verbal conversation but the non verbal conversation.  I need to hear.  I mean really hear.  Not just with my human ears but with the ears of my heart and my spirit.

As I am praying for my kids and talking to them and getting a glimpse into their world it is becoming more and more clear that I need to listen.   Then I need to stand in the gap.

Not sure what we were watching or how we got on to the subject but my daughter and I were talking yesterday about the abuse of prescription drugs by teens.  She said they use them, sell them, trade them.  What has touched my children’s lives?  What are the exposed to that they might never even share?  Are they safe to come and talk to me without fear? Life is moving at an alarming pace.  Things that once were adult issues quickly became high school problems and is steady making their way into our middle schools. Even last year as my now 11 yr old 6th grader was in primary school he was exposed to situations that are of a very adult nature.

Am I aware?  I am listening?  Or am I sticking my fingers in my ears and humming to myself “I’m not listening!”  Am I so naive to think that it’s not happening in my children’s world?

Today I continue in prayer for my children.  That is my responsibility.  To stand in the gap.  To reach out, ask questions and listen.  To instill and to write upon their hearts.  To teach them to think for themselves so that when faced with situations they can stand up for what they believe in because it is what they believe, not just what I have told them.  I need to not be afraid to see who they are texting and face booking and tweeting.  I need to be aware of their friends and the places they go.

Entrusting my children to my heavenly Father who loves them far more than I can even comprehend.  Today I stand in the gap!

One thought on “Standing in the Gap

Leave a Reply

