Spring Cleaning Inside and Out

Day 58 Project 365

I have cabin fever.  After two weeks of being down for the count I am thankful to be on the mend.  I slept the entire night last night for the first time in weeks. Now today I am trying to get back in the swing of things.  My youngest is home with the start of something so I have taken to the Lysol and I am trying to wash away the germs.  Seems like a never-ending job.  Winter just has not been cold enough to kill anything this year.  Today even they say it will be in the 70’s.  Not sure we will reach that.  The clouds have moved in and thankfully I have aired the house out in time for what looks like rain.

Maybe it’s not cabin fever I am experiencing.  Might be spring cleaning fever.  I have a deep desire to re arrange, clean, dust, throw away. If I had paint I think a room or two would have a new coat today.  I want to clean out the fridge.  I even re folded towels.   I have managed to get more done today on my mini projects than I have since they started in January.  Boxes have been sorted and removed, some labeled and stored away.  I have donations for Union Mission and several bags of trash.   I even pulled out craft supplies and began to a new spring wreath for our front door.

Whatever it is I have I am feeling great.  I will take this kind of fever any day.  I have dinner started already and even a treat in the oven for tomorrow.  I love de-cluttering and cleaning and making things new.  I also love the quiet moments in where the Lord is making me new on the inside too!  As I am renewing my walk with the Lord  I am also de-cluttering my heart.  Un-forgiveness, anger, bitterness will only bog me down and keep me from the new life He has for me. It is the time to get rid of this old baggage.  If I don’t I will just keep pulling it into my present and my future.  It clogs up relationships.  I have had to repent and make amends.  I have had to also clean out the things I think about and speak.  I need to be sure that the things I am saying and thinking and dwelling on are pleasing to the Lord and for me that comes by taking every thought captive and applying truth.  Then there is my spiritual closets.  They need cleaning too!  It is where identifying those elephants and skeletons is needed. Hidden sin can keep me sick, trapped, and bound.  Confessing and cleaning it out allows for healing.  I also have to work on my walk and relationship with the Lord.  I am challenged today to find a new church where we can fit in and grow.  He longs for a relationship with me and I with Him.  It is just as important for me to be in fellowship with other believers.  I miss it.

Gearing up for spring inside and out.

Psalm 32:3-5

New International Version (NIV)

3 When I kept silent, my bones wasted away through my groaning all day long. 4 For day and night your hand was heavy on me; my strength was sapped as in the heat of summer.

5 Then I acknowledged my sin to you and did not cover up my iniquity. I said, “I will confess  my transgressions to the LORD.” And you forgave  the guilt of my sin.

Psalm 51:10

New International Version (NIV)

10 Create in me a pure heart, O God,  and renew a steadfast spirit within me.

Luke 6:45

New International Version (NIV)

45 A good man brings good things out of the good stored up in his heart, and an evil man brings evil things out of the evil stored up in his heart. For the mouth speaks what the heart is full of.
Leave a Reply

