Recipe of life

Day 59 Project 365

I love cooking and have quite the collection of cookbooks along with folders and boxes of hand written recipes and cards clipped from cooking magazines.   Part of my project 365 list is to work through the collection and reorganize.  Of all my collection I have many recipes that are hand written and have been passed down.  I want to organize them into a cookbook with pictures and memories of the special people who have given them to me.  Of those recipes many were given to me by my grandmother.  As I was looking through the box today to find a recipe for blueberry muffins I came across a stack of handwritten cards from her.  Lovingly tucked in were scriptures and notes to remind me of who GOD is and how much He loves me.  I cherish these.  I have many wonderful memories of cooking with her and my children when they were little when she would come to visit or we would go to see her.  I loved those times with her as  I love the time with my kids in the kitchen creating new dishes or making their favorites now.  I love the time to talk and laugh and be with them.  They love it too!

I finally found my muffin recipe this early morning.  The sun isn’t even up yet.  The coffee is ready and the blueberry batter is finished.  Soon the house will smell of fresh muffins. The recipes cards are neatly back in their box except for the scripture cards. For now I am sipping my second cup of coffee and enjoying some time in the word.  There is a recipe for us in this book.  A recipe for happiness and prosperity, joy and gladness.  There is a recipe for making it through when things fall apart.  A recipe too for handling grief and sorrow and how to weather the storm.  A recipe for right living and good character filled with the fruits of the spirit.

  Psalms 34:8 says “Open your mouth and taste, open your eyes and see- how good God is.  Blessed are you who run to him!” (The Message)

Let me share with you a fellow bloggers thoughts on the recipe for a new life:

“with a triumphant smile, I embraced a new recipe for life.

Directions: Take a large bowl of willingness. Pour generous cups of determination. Add splashes of passion. And layer these insights in the pan of your heart:

  • More effective than sleeping pills…is slipping gratitude into our thoughts.
  • We only know defeat when our feet refuse to step out of      the puddle of discouragement.
  • Pain is like a bucket of water — the      longer we hold onto it, the heavier it gets.
  • Forgiveness sparks the freshness of freedom.
  • Turmoil can only boil when fueled by worry.
  • Focus not on the real estate you hold…but on the One who holds the real state of your      destiny.
  • Diligent      correction dissolves the cycle of      guilt.
  • The green of envy highlights our worst features.
  • Life tastes better when seasoned with kind      words.
  • Drive starts a project; endurance leads to results.
  • Patience is the muscle that strengthens the soul.
  • We know compassion only when love becomes our passion.
  • Anger visits places where fear dwells.
  • We miss the beauty ahead when gazing into the rearview      mirror of life.
  • Broken      plans are often the detour that      takes us through better scenery.
  • Resentment clogs the pipe of peace.
  • A Positive Attitude is the passport to places others fear.

Every morning prepare a generous helping—guaranteed to give a fresh start!  The dish has zero calories, no fat to clog your thinking, and no additives to contaminate your attitude.” (http://hopeforwomenmag.com/guest-blog/a-new-recipe-for-life)

Philippians 4:9-11

The Message (MSG)

“8-9Summing it all up, friends, I’d say you’ll do best by filling your minds and meditating on things true, noble, reputable, authentic, compelling, gracious—the best, not the worst; the beautiful, not the ugly; things to praise, not things to curse. Put into practice what you learned from me, what you heard and saw and realized. Do that, and God, who makes everything work together, will work you into his most excellent harmonies.

Content Whatever the Circumstances

10-14I’m glad in God, far happier than you would ever guess—happy that you’re again showing such strong concern for me. Not that you ever quit praying and thinking about me. You just had no chance to show it. Actually, I don’t have a sense of needing anything personally. I’ve learned by now to be quite content whatever my circumstances. I’m just as happy with little as with much, with much as with little. I’ve found the recipe for being happy whether full or hungry, hands full or hands empty. Whatever I have, wherever I am, I can make it through anything in the One who makes me who I am. I don’t mean that your help didn’t mean a lot to me—it did. It was a beautiful thing that you came alongside me in my troubles.”

As I finish my coffee and pop these muffins in the oven I have placed aside these scripture cards from my grandmother.  I will serve them up with my muffins today to my family as a loving reminder of God and His faithfulness and love.  Recipes in and of themselves for a wonderful new life.
(P.S. The recipe for the muffins is on the A Few of My Favorite Things page.  Enjoy!)
Leave a Reply

