No matter the size of the giant

Day 75 Project 365

Ready?????

Ready!!!!!

There are times we stand in front of something and when asked “Ready?” we reply with everything and anything but yes.

I had so many of those days last year I couldn’t even count.  I would wake all night with so much on my mind I couldn’t rest, and fatigue and frustration gave way to anxiety and panic.  I faced broken relationships tearing my family and my life apart, an injury that immediately changed my life, a job loss, a life threatening complication in my health, depression so deep that on several occasions I wanted to end my own life.

I was anything but ready.  I had shut down.  Retreated.  I stopped trusting.  I stopped trying.  I never gave up on knowing God but I just allowed my “giants” to become so large I thought they surely would be the death of me.

Today I am reminded……..

No matter the size of the giant my God is bigger.  No matter the size of the whale my God is bigger. No matter the size of the storm my God is bigger.  No matter the size of the mountain my God is bigger.

Are you ready????? This phrase gets a different response from me today.
Yes!!!! Yes I am ready.

Most of what I was facing last year I am still facing.  Some things are improving and some I have seen no change.  The circumstances may be the same.  They may still be giants but the way I look at them and respond to them is so different.

When I haven’t listened and did my own thing and ended up feeling as if I would drown the whale may have swallowed me but my God was bigger. (Jonah)

As I stood before the giants and it looked like an impossible situation my God was bigger. (David)

When I have been asked to do something that requires complete surrender and faith my God was bigger. (Abraham)

When I needed to make the choice to surrender and accept forgiveness and when I faced the fact that regardless of my past my God was and is bigger.  ( Woman at the well)

When I was wrongly accused and hurt beyond words my God was bigger. (Paul)

When I was asked to do something that I knew was wrong and stood my ground my God was bigger. (Daniel)

There are so many examples in the bible of times when God showed up and was bigger than whatever was being faced.   It is exciting to read and to realize that my God is bigger.  Nothing that has happened or will happen is outside of His reach.  I could keep listing things He has done.

Whatever it is, He is bigger and I am ready.

3 thoughts on “No matter the size of the giant

Leave a Reply

