The Role We Play

Day 105 Project 365

I watched a scene play out today that broke my heart. It is actually a scene I have been witnessing for some time.

At first I was upset and frustrated then when I stepped back and saw the issues surrounding the situation I saw clearly.

Our words matter.  Our body language (nonverbs) matter.  The things we don’t say when we should say something matter.  The things we say when we really should be quiet matter.

When anger is planted anger is reaped.  When bitterness is planted bitterness is reaped.  When harsh words are spoken harsh words are reaped.  You get out what you put in.  We reap what we sow.  It is hard to get mad at a child when they are living what they have learned.  Instead what is needed might be redirection.  Consistent reenforcement in the right direction.  Someone to just be there- I mean REALLY be there.

We each play a role in shaping and we each can play a role in RESHAPING!  You may think no one notices.  They do.  You may think no one cares.  They do.  You may think you are entitled- you are right, you are, however, just because you can doesn’t mean you should.

The things we do, say, speak, don’t speak matter.  Who we are and how we act in public and private matters.

It really MATTERS!

I have to do my part.  Not only for myself, my kids, my family and my friends but for all those in my circle of influence.  For those my life path crosses.  By doing the next right thing I can make a difference.  I can be that someone others look up to.  I can be that positive in a negative world.  I can create change right where I am.  Make a change.  BE the difference.  Start today.  Right now.  Do something different.

It is my responsibility.  It is all our responsibility.

Leave a Reply

