Sunshine on a rainy day

Day 137 Project 365

It had been raining for most of the day today and very few people ventured into the store.  A little after lunch she came in.  She was tired.  You could see it on her face.  I greeted her and asked if there was anything special she was shopping for today. “A charm that says princess” was her reply. I told her we didn’t have princess charms and before I could say another word her eyes filled with tears.  “That’s okay, ”  she said, “I had one before but lost it and since I will never be anyone’s princess I was going to buy one for myself.”  I smiled and stepped closer to her at the counter. She began to pour out her heart, tears in her eyes.  Her emotion was all over the place and she shared the things that had been happening to her.  I stood there with tears in my eyes and occasionally nodded that I understood.  She stopped mid sentence after about 35 minutes and dropped her head, “I am so sorry.  I don’t even know why I am telling you all this.”  I reached across the counter and told her it was quite alright.  “You had happened into the store looking for a charm but,” I shared, “you already are a princess.”  I shared with her a few parts of my story and about my own princess story.  The time I realized that I was a princess and my heavenly Father was my prince.  Tears streaming down her cheeks she shared a few more intimate details to her story.  I asked her name and shared mine and we prayed.  She apologized and I assured her that today she found a friend, that the rain had kept people away so we could have time to talk, she may not have found an actual charm but the real charm she was searching for was Jesus.  He is the one that makes us a princess.  He is the one that designed us in His image.  We talked for a few more minutes until a couple walked in.  With a smile and a thank you she walked towards the front of the store.  I thanked her for coming in and she thanked me in return promising she would come back and said she had been blessed today.  I think it was me that was blessed.  Blessed to be reminded by my sweet Savior that I am His princess, fearfully and wonderfully made and as I identified with so many parts of this woman’s story I could hear a chorus of promises and truths ringing in my head.

Thank you Jesus for the reminder today of who I am.

Thank you for using even me.

Thank you for my sweet new friend.

My Beloved,

Call My name in the morning and you will hear Me whisper, “I love you.” Seek Me when you open your eyes and feel My presence near you. Whenever you reach for Me, I will extend My hand of mercy to you, for My mercies are new every morning.

Though at times it may feel I am not near you, I am. For you are my love and I will never forsake you. I will keep you warm when the world is cold. You never need to wonder again if I will be there in the morning when you awake.

Love,

Your Prince and Morning Glory

 

“The Sovereign Lord has given me his words of wisdom, so that I know how to comfort the weary. Morning by morning he wakens me and opens my understanding to his will.”
~Isaiah 50:4 (NLT)~

from His Princess Bride
by Sheri Rose Shepherd

Click here for more info

Leave a Reply

