ONLY in His strength

Day 162 Project 365

I am in need of remembering this today:

God grant me the serenity
to accept the things I cannot change;

courage to change the things I can;

 and wisdom to know the difference.

Living one day at a time;
Enjoying one moment at a time;

Accepting hardships as the pathway to peace;

Taking, as He did, this sinful world as it is, not as I would have it;

Trusting that He will make all things right if I surrender to His Will;

That I may be reasonably happy in this life and supremely happy with Him Forever in the next.

Amen.

–Reinhold Niebuhr

I won’t even lie.  I am really struggling this morning with some major resentments and (GULP) bitterness.  I know that if I do not continually surrender it will eat me alive and I will not give it or anyone else that satisfaction.  Not easy to admit but, necessary.  Complete frustration and trying to surrender to the fact that what matters to me or affects me so deeply doesn’t even seem to phase someone else.  It is hard to wrap my head around let alone have to be physically in the same space as this “stuff”.  I am being painfully transparent right now.  I am sitting here typing knowing this “stuff” is something I should be able to rise above but still I feel like I am suffocating.  I know only one thing to do…..

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding;

 in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will direct your paths. 

Proverbs 3:5-6

In loving memory of

2 thoughts on “ONLY in His strength

Leave a Reply

