Time, please slow down

Day 194 Project 365

So a quick recap of the past few weeks:  Kris graduated and turned 18.  Brett turned 12.  This past Sunday Trixie, my little Chihuahua had a long 12 hour labor and delivered, with great difficulty, 4 adorable little puppies, 3 girls and 1 boy. Two were breech and one took 6 hours to deliver.  Had my friend Crystal who is a vet student not been home next door the day might have ended differently.  She saved the day, saved my Trixie and saved the pups.  Add in a broken car for Kris and a broken washer for me and it has been a  lot to accomplish in just a few short weeks of summer.

Still much to do.  Kody is turning 16 in a matter of 2 weeks and a party is in the planning!  Then, Nik!  Nik and Amanda have decided to move up their wedding date and now we are deep in the planning of a wonderful wedding.  August 20, 2012 my son will marry his high school sweetheart.  Last night we spent the evening venue shopping.  I have to say, we found the perfect place.  I had spent several days trying to line up different appointments so that the kids could have choices and the experience of their dreams.  It was late yesterday when I spoke with the owner of Alexanders on the Bay and I knew that was going to be the place.  What an amazing lady with a huge heart.  I was so touched as were the kids and brides family, at the care and warmth this lady showered upon us.  With more places to see, after that meeting at just the second venue they knew that was the place.  She will shut down the entire place and give it to Nik and Amanda for the night.  Even her private beach!  A beautiful place with so many extra special touches.  As we climbed in the car to head home I loved seating in the back seat listening to them talk and watching them smile and be so excited at their choice.

I still have my moments, when tears come to my eyes and my emotions threaten to take my breath away.  I am happy for my son and I know he loves her and she loves him.  One is marrying, one turning18 and finding his way and preparing to start college.  One turning 16 and ready to drive and my baby turning 12 and growing up way too fast.

Last night I remembered a little story I used to read my children, I will love you forever and love you for always, as long as I’m breathing my baby you will be.

 

One thought on “Time, please slow down

Leave a Reply

