Two becoming one

Day 231 Project 365

In two days my oldest son will marry.  Monday, August 20th is their 4 year anniversary and my Nikolas will marry his Amanda.  Wednesday evening they came over for some dinner and for me to give Amanda a gift. Almost 22 years ago we dedicated Nikolas in church.  He wore a small bonnet on his head.  A bonnet that, when the corners were snipped, would one day be a small, simple handkerchief for his bride to carry dow the aisle on their wedding day.  As I pulled out the small bonnet a flood of emotions and tears.  I remember so clearly sitting in my grandmothers rocking chair in Nikolas’ nursery rocking my brand new baby boy.  I remember the long talks Nik and I would have as he was a baby.  He would stare at me with big blue eyes as I rocked and nursed and promised that he and I would be this close forever.  As I prayed over my son day after day, night after night, year after year, I watched as he has grown into an amazing man.  He has the most tender, compassionate heart.  He loves me despite of my flaws.  He always has.  So as I handed this little bonnet to Amanda I couldn’t help but feel a full range of emotions.  This is my baby. My Nikolas.

I love you my precious son.  I love you more than words can even express.  I love the man who you are.  I am so proud to be your mom.  I pray that God will continue to speak to your heart.  That you seek Him and that you grow into the position in this world He has for you.  That you fulfill all the things HE created you to do.  I pray to for you my sweet Amanda.  I always have.  From the time my son was small I prayed for the girl who would one day be his wife.  I prayed God would protect and keep you, strengthen you and your parents for the job of raising you to be a mighty woman.  I pray that God will direct and guide you in all that you do.  That He will show you who you are in Him.  You have my sons heart.  I pray that together you will always remember who you are.  As you start your life together I pray for the family you are about to become.  I know great things are in store and even greater blessings.  I love you both so much.  On Monday, your two will become one.  Two are strong.  Yet, a cord of three can not be broken.  Weaving God into your lives, seeking His will and direction strengthens you daily.  You were both created with a passion and a purpose.  Seeking that together strengthens you.  Pray for each other.  Help each other.  Talk, and even more important, LISTEN!  Encourage each other to grow and challenge each other to live out your passion and purpose.  Never give up.  Never let the sun go down on your anger.  Look for ways each day to show each other just how much you love each other.

This morning as I look through this memory box I am filled with pride and joy.  My little boy has become a man.  My family is growing.

God is so good!

2 thoughts on “Two becoming one

  1. What a beautiful tribute to your son Leslie! Sounds like you raised a wonderful young man. May God continue to bless you and your family! Love you, beautiful woman of God!!!

Leave a Reply

