Merry Christmas 2012- with some nuts sprinkled in

Day 360 Project 365

Merry Christmas.

I find it hard to believe we are here again so quickly.  Maybe it is that I am getting old(er) that time is traveling faster than I can keep up.  I think I say that every year but, this year especially seemed to just fly by.  This morning  started with an excited 12-year-old jumping in bed telling me to get up and call his bros to hurry and open gifts.  No matter how hard I tried to convince this child that normally HATES to get out of bed that cuddling with mom for about an hour would be a great christmas present we made the calls to bro number 1 and bro number 2 as bro number 3 was still snoring in the next room.  Bro 1 said um see you at 9(ish) and Bro 2 said okay but alas fell back to sleep and it took 2 more calls to motivate an appearance. Karissa escaped to Florida for Christmas leaving me for the first time in my 22 years as a mom with a child missing at Christmas.  Yes I protested loudly and yes I lost the fight.  We tried calling her to tell her to hurry home to open gifts but…..voicemail!   A ping-pong table awaited so that kept the boys busy until at least bro 2 (Kris by the way) arrived.  After mere moments all the gifts were opened and that left  me cooking our traditional family Christmas breakfast a little lighter than some years as I only had to make 1 lb of bacon and 2 dozen eggs, along with our pancakes, sausage, egg nog french toast and christmas bread and hash browns.  This year we skipped the fruit and sausage gravy and biscuits.  Bro 1 Nik and wife Amanda arrived and we had gifts again and breakfast.  I had a “be still my beating heart” moment as my Nik asked me to stop cooking for a moment and come into the living room. I just knew they were going to tell me I was going to be a grandma but false alarm, it was just pretty candles.  :O)  My parents and sister arrived later as they do every Christmas morning to see the gifts and this year oh lucky us.  Cousin Eddie from Christmas Vacation showed up.  I should have known when I received a text to open the door for cousin Eddie that something was up.  Here shows my father in ….well here……There are no words. My father is a nut!  Yes, prayers are appreciated.

dad nuts Off we went to mom and dads where we were joined by my sister and brother-in-law and their kids.  My parents prepared another delicious meal of prime rib and all the trimmings.  Straight from their heart and trust me it is a labor of love.  We opened gifts and I even got to “retend” ( a 4 yr olds version of pretend) that I was the flower girl in Princess Addison’s fairy tale wedding to her prince. Erick carried the “rings’, Kody walked her down the isle to her daddy aka prince!   This followed by my father and Addison playing karate where my father decided to karate kick his 4 yr old grand-daughter. ( yes I know I said he was nuts but never has he been violent) I asked Addi if she wanted to play again and she said no and when asked why she said” pa has big feet!” Prayers for Addi would be good too! :O)

What a great day with so many blessings.

As I reflected on Christmas present and past I was reminded that the greatest gifts I received today were not wrapped in pretty paper and tied with a bow.  The most precious gifts to me are my children who bless me every day with thoughtfulness, kindness, and love. My family that is my rock, my solid foundation built on faith and hope and love and my amazing friends both old and new that help me find me and add such great value to my life.

Merry Christmas to you all and may we never forget the real meaning of Christmas and what really matters.

Leave a Reply

