Just ONE

one small

I was reading a devotion this morning about an overgrown garden.  The author was taking in the over growth, the forgotten and untended plot but with a sense of hope could glimpse what it could be.  She noted it would not be without hard work yet”promise was burgeoning just below the soil”

I think that was where I stood just a few weeks ago.  After a season of overgrowth, where I had allowed weeds of self doubt, condemnation, frustration and just pure exhaustion to drown out anything productive in my soil. I lost sight of potential as well as promise.  I started to walk through and past my “Garden” without any consideration. I literally was going through the motions.  I had lost hope with all the commotion.

I read too this morning her words “When we glimpse an opportunity before us, do we turn our gaze because we are wary of the work the soil demands?”

How true the words. I have read them over and over.  How true that I can see the things that need to be done but fall victim to excuses, fear, frustration.  I let what others say, do or WON’T do stop me from what I should do. I fall victim to procrastination because the task seems to daunting.

” You need only consider your next step.  Don’t be overwhelmed by the size of the task before you.  Focus on one thing that must be done next and trust God to level the ground before you.”

I am here Lord, I am doing this.  One day one moment one call one conversation one trust one step at a time.  I can’t stop re reading. I am here. I am doing this. I am pushing off the things that have bound me up and I am doing it.

“And then watch in wonder as it begins to blossom. When we are faithful to simply show up with hands willing to work, we can watch in wonder as God brings forth fruit from our humble efforts.

Yes- tears streaming as I type this!  YES YES YES

I was ready to give up on so many things. I was hurt and frustrated and gave back in to self doubt and fear. But YES I am doing it. I am showing up from the time my eyes open til my feet are pulled back into my bed. I am willing I am taking that one simple step and showing up for my day.  At work I am just blown away to have such success in just a few short days.  But it is right here. I made a choice to allow my efforts to be as unto the Lord and not be side tracked with anything. I made a choice to allow one positive thing to radiate through my whole day and my whole being and walk simply through my day for HIS glory for He is my provider.

He brings forth the fruit from our humble efforts. HE provides the increase. When I am faithful HE shows up.  When I trust and walk simply HE is there.  He give the increase. It is Him.  He is the WHY and the HOW.

I am so thankful. I am so blessed. I am so ready to continue to clear this path and see the fruit and the journey.

1 cor. 3:6

(You can read the Proverbs 31 devotion for today here)

Leave a Reply

