Attitude of Adventure

adventure

noun an unusual and exciting, typically hazardous, experience or activity.
verb engage in hazardous and exciting activity, especially the exploration of unknown territory.
Very rarely have I woke up in the  morning thinking, “wow, what adventure awaits me today!”  If I am honest any adventure in my day usually had something to do with Dora the Explorer and now since the kids are grown/growing its the grand babies world of Minnie and Elmo.  Adventure is not necessarily how I see my day.
Enter the end of 2015 and start of 2016 when I resolved not to resolve.  I decided to take it moment by moment with a bent towards doing small manageable goals that for once are sustainable and obtainable.  In a world where I love to make lists and check off and get things done I can easily map out my day and miss a lot of what has happened.  I recognize that going through the motions even if a result is achieved is not always best.  Then there are the days since I started this new outlook that I feel like giving up.  Yet I am reminded again today to change my VIEW- my perspective.  To take each day as an adventure carefully planned out my guide.
Jesus Calling devotion today reads like this:

-Jesus Calling Devotion For January 13-
Try to view each day as an adventure, carefully planned out by your Guide. Instead of staring into the day that is ahead of you, attempting to program it according to your will, be attentive to Me and to all I have prepared for you. Thank Me for this day of life, recognizing that it is a precious, unrepeatable gift. Trust that I am with you each moment, whether you sense My Presence or not. A thankful, trusting attitude helps you to see events in your life from My perspective.

A life lived close to Me will never be dull or predictable. Expect each day to contain surprises! Resist your tendency to search for the easiest route through the day. Be willing to follow wherever I lead. No matter how steep or treacherous the path before you, the safest place to be is by My side.

This is the day the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it.
—Psalm 118:24

To this you were called, because Christ suffered for you, leaving you an example, that you should follow in his steps.
—1 Peter 2:21

What a great 13 days of 2016. Each day has been full of adventure- highs and lows a like.  And I have been trusting and thankful, living my days closer to Him that sustains me and has never failed me.  My trust is in HIM, my hope is in HIM.  Listen my life has NEVER been dull.  Like everyone, it is always something, but I am promised that this is the day HE made and He will direct my steps when I recognize that today is a day he made, a precious gift that once lived is gone.  When I take every moment and every interaction and see it through His eyes it really does change me and change the results of my day.
Welcome Wednesday- lets get this adventure started…………
Leave a Reply

