Archive | Wednesday, February 24th, 2021

Change the Room

Chapter 2 Page 24

So I have to totally share this email that I got today. I receive motivational emails from Dean Storer that challenge me. Today’s email went like this

“If you want to be a leader, you should aim to be a thermostat, not a thermometer. You know the difference: thermometers tell us the temperature and thermostats regulate temperature. So, why is it important to be one instead of the other?

It’s easy enough to tell the temperature, anyone can do it with the right tools. The janitor can do it, the new trainee can do it, the receptionist can do it.

Now, let’s switch things up a bit. If there is some sort of a problem or issue, anyone can see that it’s a problem. At work, when things get super busy or hectic, everyone at the office can see that work’s busy.

That’s the thermometer doing the talking. But you’re a leader, so be a thermostat to create change.

Change people’s expectations, their perspective, or even their morale levels. If there’s a problem, find a solution. If there are challenges, rally the troops. If work’s busy, attack it with enthusiasm and passion. You’re the leader, so don’t be impacted by your surroundings, change them.

I can feel things starting to warm up already!”

I do not know about you but this was one for journaling, a meal in an email. Something to chew on and really wrap my brain around.

be a thermostat to create change.

So many times we get so comfortable. We get so stuck in routine or lists, stuck in expectations or lack thereof. We begin to become our environment instead of impacting change. I know that is where I was last year. My husbands accident was the catalyst to move me out of my comfort zone. Making that change woke something in me. A desire to find solutions, to attack with enthusiasm and passion. I don’t want to be impacted by my surroundings I want to CHANGE them. To do that I needed to stop letting my life be a result of the temperature setting of the room and start setting the temperature in the room. I needed to be the thermostat to create change. As a thermometer I was good at finding solutions and presenting ideas but as a thermostat I set the temp, the tone. I challenged my own self this evening to step outside myself and create change. Trust myself and do what I know I can do.

I’m about to change the room.